In Fun Facts

Fun Fact Friday #9: The one with the 10 cities

Stuttgart has 10 sister cities

When you walk up Königstraße and look down to your feet at the intersection with Schulstraße, you see several coats of arms. Quite pretty, but why are they there?

The idea of sister cities was born after World War II to increase friendship and understanding between different cultures. But sister cities also support each other in terms of tourism and business development. Stuttgart has ten sister cities and you can find their coat of arms at the intersection of Königstraße and Schulstraße.

You can find the codes of arms of Stuttgart's sister cities on Königstraße

The 10 sister cities are:

  • Brünn (Czech Republic)
  • Cardiff (Wales, UK)
  • Kairo (Egypt)
  • Lodz (Poland)
  • Menzel Bourguiba (Tunis)
  • Mumbai (India)
  • Samara (Russia)
  • St. Helens (England, UK)
  • St. Louis (USA)
  • Strasbourg (France)

The friendship between St. Helens in the UK and Stuttgart dates back to 1949. The bond between Samara in Russia and Stuttgart is the youngest, it was formed in 1992.

The friendship between Stuttgart and its partner cities will be celebrated on June 30 at Treffpunkt Rotebühlplatz! There you can learn more about the ten cities, taste typical food and participate in workshops. More infomation here (only in German)



Hello and welcome to "living in Stuttgart". I am Mel and I love this beautiful city. There are so many things to explore, I can't wait sharing them with you. So come along and let me show you Stuttgart the way I see it.

You may also like

Enjoy vegetarian and vegan fast food at Veggi Stuttgart

Enjoy vegetarian fast food at Vegi Stuttgart

Posted on November 13, 2017

Cozy Swabian restaurant in Stuttgart

Posted on December 17, 2016

Previous PostWhat's up this weekend - June 30 and July 1 in Stuttgart?
Next PostHow about a world trip - through living rooms?!

No Comments

Leave a Reply

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.